Thursday, June 6, 2013

A Wok to the Kitchen ~ Thriller Author Creston Mapes (Giveaway)

** Weds. 12:15 PM Congratulations to our giveaway winner: Andrea S!**

Today it's my great pleasure to host another gentleman on Authors' Galley. We haven't yet met personally but we share the same literary agent, and that's almost like family. Please join me in welcoming thriller author Creston Mapes



 Greetings friends,

Well, at Candace’s advise, I scoured my new thriller, Fear Has a Name, for a food scene, and the following is what I’ve come up with. This scene occurs when our antagonist, Granger Meade, has kidnapped the only person who was ever nice to him as a child, Pamela Crittendon. They are at a convenience store in the middle of the night. Here goes:
• • •

Out in the store he said softly, “Get whatever you want. Get enough to last awhile.”
How long? she wondered. What does he have planned?
She really believed he didn’t know, that all he knew was that he wanted to be with her. She must become the world’s best actress. In her mind she must revert back to the Pamela Wagner he knew in high school, who reached out, showed compassion, wanted him to be one of the gang.
Her stomach ached. She wasn’t hungry, but she knew she must eat to stay strong and alert. She walked down the aisle nearest them. Although Granger wasn’t holding her arm, he was right there in her shadow, looking himself for food.
She picked up a good-sized bag of cashews and several crunchy peanut butter bars while he grabbed a package of teriyaki beef jerky and a can of potato sticks. At the refrigerated section, Pamela got several yogurts, a package of string cheese, and a bottled water. Granger got a tall can of Red Bull.
“Ready?” He eyed her.
She nodded.
He took several items out of her full arms and they walked back up to the man in the turban. They set all the things on the sliver of available counter space.
“And two packs of Newports—soft,” Granger said. “Not the box.” He turned his head to the side and muttered, “If you can understand English.”
                                                                            

It was more than a break-in. More than a stalking. It was personal. When a stalker targets his family, journalist Jack Crittendon must uncover who the person is and what his motives are--if he is to protect the ones he loves. It will lead Crittendon into a world of behind-closed-door secrets and faith gone awry, as does his investigation of a missing pastor, whose apparent suicide is more than it appears.
"Fans of Ted Dekker, Davis Bunn, Jerry Jenkins and Frank Peretti will love Creston's novels!"
  • • •


Okay, that excerpt is from book one in my new series, The Crittendon Files. I hope you’ll enjoy it over a bag of potato sticks and some beef jerky. Now on to my the recipe I want to share with you.



Cooking relaxes me and I love to cook Chinese with the wok. I made up today’s recipe long ago and it has proven to be a real hit with my wife and our four kids. I didn’t have a formal name for it until now, but let’s call it Creston’s Ginger Garlic Chicken. This recipe will serve 4-6.

• Mix the following ingredients in a bowl and set this aside--it’s your ‘sauce’: 3/4 cup teriyaki sauce, ¼ cup worchestire sauce, a shot of water, a shot of Italian dressing (if you have it), 1 tablespoon of ginger (spice), 1 heaping tablespoon of minced garlic, 1 heaping tablespoon of cornstarch. Mix this all together really well. Taste (good, isn’t it?).

• Cut up 3-4 boneless chicken breasts into small pieces, preferably diced. Cook that with Extra Virgin Olive Oil on high heat in the wok until done and set aside.

• Chop up the following items, smaller the better: 2 onions, 2-4 carrots, 2-4 stalks of celery, and 1 cup of shredded cabbage. Cook these on high with Extra Virgin Olive Oil in the wok. Put the lid on so they cook faster. You want the veggies almost crunchy, but not quite.

• Pour the chicken and sauce in with the veggies and cook on high until the sauce thickens. Mix well. Serve over rice.

Here’s where you can find out more about my thrillers and me. Thanks for having me!






***
Mmm, great recipe, Creston, intiguing glimpse into your new novel, and I love your kitchen! We so appreciate your "tying on the apron" with Authors' Galley.

And now friends, to celebrate Creston's exciting new release, Wynn-Wynn Media has generously offered a giveaway. It includes a copy of Fear Has a Name, plus a
 Twenty-dollar Pier 1 gift card, AND a cute potholder.  What a great prize package!


To be entered, please leave a comment below. Be sure to include an e-mail address.
 US entries only, please. The winning name will be drawn (via Random.Org) on Weds. June 12 and the lucky winner notified by e-mail. 
Until then . . .

Bon appetit and happy reading! 

27 comments:

Amanda said...

The recipe sounds great!

Amy Smith said...

Sounds delicious! amylsmith(at)bledsoe(dot)net

Creston Mapes said...

You can vary the recipe however you want. I change it a little each time. My family loves it.

Thanks for dropping by, Amanda and Amy.

Thanks for having me, Candace!

Sunnymeadows said...

Sounds delicious! The book sounds intriguing.

Cindy
Sunnymeadows@gmx.com

Cheryl Barker said...

I would love to be included in the draw. The book sounds intriguing and who wouldn't like a Pier 1 gift card? :)

ckbarker at gmail dot com

Anonymous said...

Love Creston's writing! I have read all of his books EXCEPT the new one! Would love to win!

mwiley2@embarqmail.com

Beth Gillihan said...

Yum! That recipe sounds great! The book sounds exciting!
rbgillihan@gmail.com

CandaceCalvert said...

such a pleasure to have you here, Creston.
Amy and Amanda: Welcome!
Cindy: Creston's book does sound intriguing, doesn't it? I loved the snippet he shared here.
Chery: Absolutely on both counts! So generous (and creative!) of Wynn-Wynn to put together this gift package.
mywiley: Welcome--great to have one of Creston's loyal fans here!
Beth: I totally agree. Food & books, what a great combo.

Mark said...

sounds delicious, and the book sounds great
marcus802001@yahoo.com

Creston Mapes said...

Cindy, Cheryl, MWiley, Beth and Mark -- thanks for dropping into Candace's Kitchen today. Yes, do check out my novels...I promise you'll be glad you did.

And better check out Candace's too, because from what I hear the girl can write!

Mocha with Linda said...

Love this peek into Creston Mapes' kitchen and his book! Looking forward to reading it!

TB said...

I can save my new Preston when , but I didn't know he would turn out to be such a great cook. Terriluvs2rein@gmail.com

Anonymous said...

I am a fan of Creston's books, Can't wait to read the new one.

brownjackie@bellsouth.net

Michelle Morgan said...

I want to try the recipe and the book sounds just as good. inspiremichelle@yahoo.com

Cara Putman said...

Yum! Creston, anytime you want to come over to cook, just let me know. I'll even get a wok. Best wishes on the new book. It soiunds great. cara at caraputman dot com

karenk said...

a wonderful posting...and recipe...thanks for sharing :)

karenk
kmkuka at yahoo dot com

Gram said...

I am always looking for new chicken recipes and this one sounds like a winner. Thanks
grammyd01 (at) comcast (dot) net

Library Lady said...

Love to read, love to cook, and love to win giveaways.
Thanks!
Janet E.
von1janet(at)gmail(dot)com

Creston said...

Thanks to each of you for dropping by!

Thanks Candace for taking a peek into my kitchen.

Your readers can check out the first chapter of FEAR HAS A NAME right here, if they like:

http://www.dccebooks.com/products/fear-has-a-name

Regards to all and happy cooking.
Creston

Anonymous said...

New author! Fun! The snippet caught my attention. Will have to look around for the book. Thanks for sharing

Andrea
Kaskaggs at Fourway dot net

Richard Mabry said...

Creston, Haven't had the opportunity to meet you in person yet, but delighted to have another "Y" chromosome represented among thriller authors in Christian fiction. And the recipe sounds great, as well.

Candace, thanks for introducing us to Creston.

Creston Mapes said...

Richard,
Thanks bro. Have seen your books but not had pleasure of reading yet. Hope to soon. Thx for dropping in!

KayM said...

Both the book and the recipe sound wonderful!!
may_dayzee (at) yahoo (dot) com

Creston Mapes said...

Thanks Kay! Hope you'll try BOTH!

CandaceCalvert said...

I'm so enjoying your comments, friends! And I'm looking forward to drawing a winning name on Wednesday. Stand by . . .

Creston said...

Candace what fun fans you have. Thanks again for hosting me!

CandaceCalvert said...

A big congratulations to our giveaway winner, ANDREA S!
And thank you ALL for stopping by to leave comments.

We enjoyed hosting you, Creston!